30th January, 2017


DigitalHealth.London has announced the finalists shortlisted for the 2017 NHS Digital Pioneer Awards.

These inaugural Awards, sponsored by DigitalHealth.London and NHS England, and supported by London’s three Academic Health Science Networks and MedCity, recognise digital innovation, leadership and sustainability across London’s NHS organisations, and the individuals and teams leading in this space.

The ten finalists were initially put forward by peers and colleagues following a call for nominations in October 2016. A total of 62 nominations were received by DigitalHealth.London, with all nominees invited to submit further information in order to be considered for shortlisting.

Each of the shortlisted finalists have since been invited to speak with an expert panel of judges -including Noel Gordon, Chair of NHS Digital; Anne Cooper, Chief Nurse at NHS Digital; Juliet Bauer, Director of Digital Experience at NHS England; and Matthew Patrick, CEO of South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust (SLaM) – who decided the final category winner.

The finalists are individuals or teams working tirelessly as clinicians, managers or operational staff within London’s NHS organisations, who have identified a problem with how care or training is delivered to their colleagues, patients and carers. Each has taken the initiative to seek out or develop from scratch, digital innovations which have the potential to transform the problem area they have identified.

The winners of the 2017 NHS Digital Pioneer Awards will be announced at the DigitalHealth.London/collaborate event, which takes place in London on the 22 February.

The finalists are:

Award for Digital Leadership

  • Professor Martin Cowie, Professor of Cardiology and Honorary Consultant Cardiologist, Imperial College London, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Bahman Nedjat-Shokouhi, Specialist Registrar, West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust, St Mark’s Hospital Foundation
  • Sarah Newcombe, Clinical Site Practitioner, Great Ormond Street Hospital

Award for Digital Innovation

  • Shafi Ahmed, Consultant Surgeon, Barts Health NHS Trust
  • North East London Foundation Trust (NELFT) ‘My Mind’ app team
  • The Royal Marsden Pain Team supported by The Katie Compson Foundation
  • Dr Marcela Vizcaychipi, Consultant in Intensive Care and Anaesthesia, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Award for Sustainability through Digital

  • Dr Laura Hopkins, Clinical Teaching Fellow/Medical Registrar, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust
  • Stephanie Mansell, Consultant Physiotherapist, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust
  • Andrew Raynes, IM & T Programme Director, Barking havering and Redbridge University Hospitals NHS Trust

Visit the DigitalHealth.London website from 22 February or follow @DHealthLDN on Twitter to find out the winners.